$50 GC Giveaway for 'The Midnight Society' by Rhonda Sermon

Blurb (synopsis)

"Witness protection has a protocol for every imaginable situation—the unimaginable has happened."

Fifteen-year-old Cate's life has been monitored since her new identity was created five years ago. She's spent countless hours learning how to deal with potential threats and dangerous situations. None of which is any use when everyone around her is suddenly frozen like statues one afternoon.

As she attempts to make sense of the frightening scene, a mysterious group of teenagers appears out of thin air. They are intrigued she’s not affected, but focus on completing their mission, using baffling powers before they vanish again.

Terrified, but desperate not to be relocated again Cate tells no one and sets a catastrophic chain of events in motion. When the group seeks her out the next day, she discovers a brutal realm filled with wizards, zombies and the occasional shapeshifter who travel through time manipulating history. A centuries-old battle between two mortal enemies in this clandestine world puts Cate’s loved ones in danger.

When her brother disappears, a panicked Cate is forced into the dangerous realm where she must risk her life to search for him. There she is faced with an unimaginable decision. Will she risk destroying innocent lives and the world as she knows it to save the ones she loves?

One line blurb for teasers

"Witness protection has a protocol for every imaginable situation—the unimaginable has happened."

Genre & Target audience

Genre:

YA Urban Fantasy

Target Audience:

This YA novel is for readers aged 13 and up and will have a large cross over market and appeal to adults.

A combination of The Mortal Instruments meets Back to the Future with just a sprinkle of The Hunger Games it will appeal to fans of Cassandra Clare and Suzanne Collin in addition to lovers of Science Fiction and Time Travel books.

Author bio

The Short Version

Rhonda lives in Perth, Western Australia with her husband and two children. Her two ragdoll cats can often be found helpfully walking over her keyboard, chasing her mouse or generally complaining loudly about the lack of priority their needs are being given. On the good days, she adores writing, on the challenging days, it’s still awesome. Her debut novel The Midnight Society was a finalist in the Young Adult category and overall runner up in The Strongest Start 2012 Contest hosted by TheNextBigWriter.com

The Long Version (Which I suggest you read with a drink and snack.)

Rhonda was born and raised in a small country town in Western Australia surrounded by the most beautiful beaches in the world, although sadly the weather provided more rainy days than sunny.

After high school she headed to the city and after four years studying at University, which was completely free back then, she studied a little more and set off with her Chartered Accountant Certificate under her arm to travel the world doing all things financial, which she found fun and interesting. Please don’t hold that against her. To this day she remains pretty much all travelled out, which many people find incomprehensible.

One evening, shortly after the arrival of her second child she announced to her very understanding and supportive husband, her decision to swap spreadsheets and numbers for chapters and prose. This was followed by the bold and impossibly naive statement she was going to write a book. And just like that she was hooked.

At an age well over 21 she found something she was passionate about and truly loved. That first novel still sits on her computer – cringe worthy to the trained eye, but a reminder of not only how far she has come, but also to never be afraid to try something new.

Working from home can be very distracting, with the television, free WiFi, two very entertaining ragdoll cats and a multitude of things to clean and organize. That is Rhonda’s excuse for writing in coffee shops. When she isn’t writing, her time is spent playing taxi to her children, making school lunches and planning what to cook for dinner. An unfortunate accident in her first Tae Kwon Do class which resulted in six weeks immobile in plaster, followed by six months of rehabilitation now has her committed to watching her children in their Tae Kwon Do classes to research new fight moves for her characters.

On the good days, she adores writing, on the challenging days, it’s still awesome.

Her debut novel The Midnight Society was a finalist in the Young Adult category and overall runner up in The Strongest Start 2012 Contest hosted by TheNextBigWriter.com.

Rhonda now lives in Perth, Western Australia with her husband and two children. Her two ragdoll cats can often be found helpfully walking over her keyboard, chasing her mouse or generally complaining loudly about the lack of priority their needs are given.

EXCERPTS FROM THE MIDNIGHT SOCIETY

Excerpt

Cate landed spread-eagle on the ground. The damp grass sent shivers down her spine but soothed her burning cheek. She spat out the grass and dirt that somehow ended up in her mouth.

“It gets worse before it gets better.” Austin helped her up. “Watch your thoughts. Think before you, well...think.”

She tugged her arm a few times, trying to escape the death grip Austin had on her. “If you’re rifling through my brain with your little Time-Jedi tricks, stop it.” At this rate she wouldn’t have a brain to rifle through, it was taking such a beating.

“I can’t read your mind, happy?”

She was light years away from happy. “How do you travel through time like that?”

“It’s a combination of magic and science. Your body dematerialises—”

“No! You look like you’ve stepped from one room to another.” She smoothed her hair and removed a few blades of grass. “I look like I’ve been pulled through a tornado.”

He chuckled as he plucked random plant matter from her hair. His broad shoulders blocked the sun, which outlined him with its silver glow. As his hand ran through her hair, tingles shimmered over her scalp. “I’ve been surfing for longer than you’ve been alive. It takes practice.”

She swatted his arm away. “What, so now you’re a century old, immortal, magical time traveller who’s frozen forever at sixteen?”

“Whoa! Big leap there. I’m nineteen, but I’ve been timesurfing since before I could walk. My mum, who is an immortal, hid out in a different time each week until I was five. She had a relationship that went bad.”

“Your mother’s an immortal?”

“Keep up.”

Cate decided to ask the question she was dreading the answer to.

Excerpt

She dragged her hands down her face. Reluctantly, she admitted it was impossible to ignore all the weird things that had happened since Sunday at the bus stop. The damage was done. Her world had changed. What if she was going to make terrible decisions or become a horrible person? This was her chance to find out and maybe change that if she wanted to. “So Timesurfers control history?”

“We don’t control history, we protect it,” Naitanui said.

“Isn’t that the same?” Cate asked.

A sad smile spread across Naitanui’s face. “The two could not be more different. To protect requires difficult decisions. Ours is a world of black and white.”

Cate rubbed her eyes with the back of her hand. “What does that mean in plain English?”

“The world wars, bubonic plague, the sinking of the Titanic—are all disasters that could be avoided in an alternate history. If Mortez seeks to remedy these types of events, our job is to ensure history runs its course as intended. We do what it takes to ensure these tragedies unfold.”

“You stand by and let people die?” A sprinkling of doubt floated through Cate’s head. How could letting people die be acceptable for any reason?

Social media links

[if !supportLists][endif]You can connect with Rhonda Sermon on Social Media here:

[if !supportLists]· [endif]Website: www.RhondaSermon.com

[if !supportLists]· [endif]Facebook https://www.facebook.com/rhondasermonauthor

[if !supportLists]· [endif]Instagram: https://instagram.com/rhondasermonyaauthor

[if !supportLists]· [endif]Twitter: https://twitter.com/RhondaSermon

[if !supportLists]· [endif]Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/RhondaSermon

Purchase Links

The Midnight Society is available worldwide in ebook, paperback and hardback from your favourite online retailer. The ebook is exclusive to Amazon and Free on Kindle Unlimited. Purchase sites include:

Amazon : https://amzn.com/B01EO2CBUG

Barnes & Noble : http://bit.ly/TMSbn

Book Depository: http://bit.ly/TMSBookdep

It is also available from bookstores throughout Australian, United States, Canada and United Kingdom.


Featured Posts